Baltimore Government Sabotaged “The Wire” And More Reunion Reveals[VIDEO]


One thing fans of HBO’s critically acclaimed series “The Wire” can agree on is that it didn’t get enough love when it was on the air.  The gritty drama about crime ridden streets of Baltimore premiered on June 2, 2002, and ended on March 9, 2008 after its fifth season. Despite recognition from the NAACP Image Awards and the Writers Guild of America, “The Wire” never won an Emmy.

“Because we didn’t get the recognition while we were on the air, we partied a lot,” Wendell Pierce joked at a special reunion of the cast held on Thursday, October 16, 2014 at  The Paley Center for Media’s annual TV fan festival, PaleyFest NY.

The other actors who were present included Sonja Sohn (Kima Greggs), Michael Kenneth Williams (Omar Little), Seth Gilliam (Ellis Carver), Jim True-Frost (Roland Pryzbylewski), John Doman (William Rawls), Lawrence Gilliard Jr (D’Angelo Barksdale), J.D. Williams (Bodie), Robert Wisdom (Bunny Colvin), Tristan Wilds (Michael Lee), Jamie Hector (Marlo Stanfield) and video appearances by Idris Elba (Stringer Bell) and Dominic West (Jimmy McNulty).

There were many revelations made by the cast in attendance, but one that raised eyebrows was the admission by creator David Simon that the former mayor of Baltimore, and current governor of Maryland, Martin O’ Malley, let his hatred of the show influence permits and incentives in the city, which impacted filming.

Watch the full panel below: (Spotted @ TheSmokinSection)

To Top