New Music

Kenn Starr Announces New Album, Releases First Single “The Movement”

kenn starr

Eight years ago, Kenn Starr dropped a refreshing debut album with Starr Status that featured producers like Oddisee, Khrysis, M-Phazes, and others who were just starting to make their name ring in the early 2000s. And then Kenn Starr disappeared. All we were left with was spare guest features like the dazzling one on Foreign Exchange’s “The Answer.” He simply disappeared.

Until now. Today he announces his sophomore album, Square One, set to drop on January 15 via Mello Music Group. His first single, “The Movement,” is produced by fellow MMG staple Kev Brown, and it highlights the lo-fi goodness we’ve come to love from the MMG camp. He’s been away for a long time, so he must have a lot to get off his chest.

We can’t wait to hear the LP. Spin the single above, check out the tracklist below, and watch a trailer for the album. Then pre-order Square One on iTunes right here.

1.) “Square One” (produced by Kev Brown)

2.) “Say Goodbye” (produced by Black Milk)

3.) “Product of the Basement” f/ Sean Born (produced by Kev Brown)

4.) “Aiming For The Sky” f/ Hassaan Mackey (produced by Analogic)

5.) “The Definition” f/ Melanie Rutherford (produced by Black Milk)

6.) “Came To Deliver” f/ Wordsworth & Supastition (produced by Black Milk)

7.) “Lesson A” (produced by Kev Brown)

8.) “Days At A Time” f/ Sean Born (produced by Kev Brown)

9.) “Once Upon A Time” f/ Wayna (produced by Slimkat78)

10.) “The Movement II” (produced by Kev Brown)

11.) “Overdue” f/ Kaimbr, Hassaan Mackey & yU (produced by Kaimbr)

12.) “Farewell” f/ Sean Born (produced by Kev Brown)

13.) “Product of the Basement” (Remix) (produced by Kev Brown) ****Bonus Track

To Top