How Zach LaVine Brought The Dunk Contest Back [VIDEO]


Expectations were low going into the 2015 NBA Slam Dunk contest. The list of contestants held no recognizable names–Mason Plumlee (Nets) Victor Oladipo (Magic) Zach LaVine (Wolves) Giannis Antetokounmpo (Bucks)–and reverting back to old rules meant that players would have to get it right in three tries.

Judges Bernard King, Nate “Tiny” Archibald, Julius “Dr. Jay” Irving,  Walt “Clyde” Frazier, and Chris Mullin promised that it wouldn’t be easy, but the first round woke the crowd up. Zach LaVine and Victor Oladipo put on a show from the door, with LaVine pulling out the win. Watch how he did it.


The Space Jam Dunk


The Behind The Back Dunk

The teammate dunk  LeVine45Dunk  

The between the legs dunk LeVine Final Dunk  

Congrats to LaVine, who at 19-years-old became the 2nd youngest Dunk champion ever.  

To be fair, Victor Oladipo’s first round dunk scored him a 50 for good reason and was part of why this year’s contest was so good.

We think this was the best Dunk Contest since Dwight Howard and Nate Robinson competed.

Slam Dunk Contest Year-By-Year Winners
2014 – John Wall, Washington
2013 – Terrence Ross, Toronto
2012 – Jeremy Evans, Utah
2011 – Blake Griffin, L.A. Clippers
2010 – Nate Robinson, New York
2009 – Nate Robinson, New York
2008 – Dwight Howard, Orlando
2007 – Gerald Green, Boston
2006 – Nate Robinson, New York
2005 – Josh Smith, Atlanta
2004 – Fred Jones, Indiana
2003 – Jason Richardson, Golden State
2002 – Jason Richardson, Golden State
2001 – Desmond Mason, Seattle
2000 – Vince Carter, Toronto
1997 – Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers
1996 – Brent Barry, L.A. Clippers
1995 – Harold Miner, Miami
1994 – Isaiah Rider, Minnesota
1993 – Harold Miner, Miami
1992 – Cedric Ceballos, Phoenix
1991 – Dee Brown, Boston
1990 – Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1989 – Kenny Walker, New York
1988 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
1987 – Michael Jordan, Chicago
1986 – Spud Webb, Atlanta
1985 – Dominique Wilkins, Atlanta
1984 – Larry Nance, Phoenix

To Top