Hip-Hop News

Kendrick Lamar’s Third Studio Album Is Called To Pimp A Butterfly


*UPDATE: To Pimp A Butterfly is available on iTunes and is available to stream on Spotify

Most of us thought ol’ Kendrick Lamar was going to pull a Nas on us with the title of his good kid, m.A.A.d. city follow up. He proved us all wrong early this morning (March 11) when he dropped what may just be the realest album cover of 2015 so far.

RELATED: Kendrick Lamar Announces Release Date For New Album

Kendrick took to Instagram to reveal that the name of his hotly anticipated upcoming project is To Pimp A Butterfly, covered with a picture of Black boys sitting on the dead body of a judge in front of the White House. Kendrick’s eloquence as an emcee and a storyteller is really shining through on that title, but the cover indicates that this will be anything but subtle. It’s a title that’s soft on the ears but blunt on the chest, and it makes me that much more excited to hear what Kendrick’s got to say. No word on a track list just yet, but you can pre-order the album hereTo Pimp A Butterfly drops March 23.

1. Wesley’s Theory
2. For Free? (Interlude)
3. King Kunta
4. Institutionalized
5. These Walls
6. U
7. Alright
8. For Sale? (Interlude)
9. Momma
10. Hood Politics
11. How Much A Dollar Cost
12. Complexion
13. The Blacker The Berry
14. You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)
15. I
16. Mortal Man

Check out WatchLOUD Exclusive on LockerDome on LockerDome
To Top