Hip-Hop News

Listen To Lauryn Hill Spit Flames Over A Nina Simone Track [AUDIO]

Lauryn Hill nina simone

On The Fugees 1996 classic “Ready Or Not” Lauryn Hill separated herself from the mafioso obsession of the ’90s with the line,”So while you’re imitating Al Capone, I’ll be Nina Simone/And defecating on your microphone...”

Almost two decades later things have come full circle for the New Jersey rap icon as she oversees RCA records tribute album Nina Revisited: A Tribute To Nina Simone, which will be released on July 10th in conjunction with the forthcoming documentary What Happened, Miss Simone?, which is coming to Netflix on June 26th.

In this snippet from “I’ve Got Life” Lauryn continues to employ her new double-time delivery to dissect the myriad levels American terrorism in 2015. While she trades the laid back confidence we grew to love for urgency and haste, we can understand why. These are not relaxing times. Listen to the first verse from “I’ve Got Life” below.

“Invisible ink in the Constitution meant to preserve the institution/ unequal distribution of wealth,  goods and services/ revolving door, no floor, just anxiety and nervousness trapped in circuses/ herds of us/ not understanding our purpose is…”

The track listing for Nina Revisited is below:

01 Lisa Simone: Nobody’s Fault but Mine (Intro)
02 Ms. Lauryn Hill: Feeling Good
03 Ms. Lauryn Hill: I’ve Got Life
04 Ms. Lauryn Hill: Ne Me Quitte Pas
05 Jazmine Sullivan: Baltimore
06 Grace: Love Me or Leave Me
07 Usher: My Baby Just Cares For Me
08 Mary J. Blige: Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
09 Gregory Porter: Sinnerman
10 Common & Lalah Hathaway: YG&B
11 Alice Smith: I Put a Spell On You
12 Lisa Simone: I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl
13 Ms. Lauryn Hill: Black Is the Color of My True Love’s Hair
14 Ms. Lauryn Hill: Wild Is the Wind
15 Ms. Lauryn Hill: African Mailman
16 Nina Simone: I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free


To Top