Hip-Hop News

Dr. Dre Announces Compton: A Soundtrack + Track List


*UPDATE 3: Stream Compton right here.

*UPDATE 2: Compton: A Soundtrack will be making its debut on Apple Music this coming Thursday at 6 PM PDT.

*UPDATE: DJ Rhettmatic revealed on his Instagram that a track produced by DJ Premier featuring Anderson Paak, along with tracks featuring DJ Khalil and Fredwreck, will be on Compton: A Soundtrack.

A lot of my friends have helped worked & contributed on this album & I’m very excited for them because they all worked hard. I’ve been very blessed to have meet so many good & talented people in this crazy music business, including my heroes. Then something happened. 2 weeks ago, I finally get to meet the man himself. At the studio. It’s crazy because I have a lot of friends that worked with the Doctor but I’ve never met in person. It was surreal. It was really cool to talk to him about DJing & music. It was very kind of him to let me listen to some of the final versions of this upcoming album. And what was even very crazy, is that I got to witness the official producer collabo between the Good Doctor & @djpremier for a song that features the talented @anderson_.paak. Now this is where the Hip Hop Geek in me gets giddy. Not that it’s an important factor to the song, but I was able to help Preemo find some phrases to a scratch hook he was getting ready to lay down. Look at my recent old IG pic with me, Preemo & @xzibit to give you an idea. I wish I could’ve gotten a picture with the Good Doctor but I didn’t want to interrupt their workflow & overstep my welcome. Even if I never get to meet him again or ever work with him at all, I’m good because I was able to witness history in person & was able to check off a Hip Hop bucket list. And oh yeah, the album is bananas! Thank you to @therealphd @focus3dotz @xzibit for the opportunity as well as congratulations to them & @djkhalil @fredwreckla @therealcold187um @laylawmusic @ianschwartzman & many others. And thank you to the man himself @drdre. Whether people realize it or not, you’re about to smack people over their heads. They’re might be naysayers but I think you really don’t care because you’re having so much fun. Congratulations & welcome back. #Compton #August7th #Aftermath #StraightOuttaCompton #NWA #WestCoast #HipHop

A photo posted by rhettmatic (@rhettmatic) on

Dr. Dre had the entirety of the hip-hop world on the edge of their seats during the latest episode of The Pharmacy on Beats1 Radio, and now he’s finally done the unthinkable – Dre announced a new album, his first one since 2001 over 15 years ago. iFbBoAe RELATED: Ice Cube Reveals The Release Date For The Dr. Dre-Produced Album Inspired By Straight Outta Compton

Compton: A Soundtrack, partly inspired by the upcoming N.W.A. biopic Straight Outta Compton, will be rocking ears around the world on Friday, August 7. “I found myself being so inspired by the movie that I recorded an album…and it’s finished,” Dre revealed. “It’s gonna be my grand finale, and it’s gonna be bananas.” Dre also mentioned that we’ll be getting this album instead of the long-awaited Detox, which he scrapped because he wasn’t happy with how it turned out. “I’m gonna keep it all the way one-thousand with you, seriously. I worked my ass off on it, I don’t think I did a good enough job, and I couldn’t do that to my fans and I couldn’t do that to myself, to be perfectly honest with you. I just wasn’t feeling it,” he admitted. Either way, new music is new music. Check out the track list below and pre-order the album here.


1 Intro – Dr. Dre

2 Talk About It (feat. King Mez & Justus) – Dr. Dre

3 Genocide (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay) – Dr. Dre

4 It’s All On Me (feat. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid) – Dr. Dre

5 All In a Day’s Work (feat. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius) – Dr. Dre

6 Darkside/Gone (feat. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar) – Dr. Dre

7 Loose Cannons (feat. Xzibit & COLD 187um) – Dr. Dre

8 Issues (feat. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak) – Dr. Dre

9 Deep Water (feat. Kendrick Lamar & Justus) – Dr. Dre

10 One Shot One Kill (feat. Snoop Dogg) – Jon Connor

11 Just Another Day (feat. Asia Bryant) – The Game

12 For the Love of Money (feat. Jill Scott & Jon Connor) – Dr. Dre

13 Satisfiction (feat. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez) – Dr. Dre

14 Animals (feat. Anderson Paak) Dr. Dre

15 Medicine Man (feat. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak) – Dr. Dre

16 Talking To My Diary – Dr. Dre

To Top