Hip-Hop News

Robert Glasper Speaks On Miles Davis Tribute “Everything’s Beautiful”

Grammy Award winning pianist, composer and producer Robert Glasper has been bridging the gaps between jazz, R&B and hip-hop for years via live tours with Q-Tip, Mos Def and Bilal, and recording coveted albums like Black Radio and its sequel. His latest work is a compilation of original songs recorded using original Miles Davis source material called Everything’s Beautiful, and it will serve as a companion soundtrack to the upcoming biopic directed by Don Cheadle.

Everything’s Beautiful features contributions from Erykah Badu, Bilal, Phonte Coleman, KING, Georgia Anne Muldrow and Stevie Wonder, among others. It will be released on May 27th via Sony.

“I feel like I’m living in the spirit of Miles because when I’m doing what I’m doing because I’m documenting my time period,” Glasper says in a mini-doc about the album. “I’m documenting what’s around me and who I am now, where music is now and that’s kind of what this project was about. This wasn’t about taking Miles and remixing him again, but it’s like let’s take some of Miles’s ideas, shake them up, and try to show the influence of Miles and make new things.”

Glasper was given access to all of Davis’s music and touched lesser known songs like “The Ghetto Walk.” 9th Wonder was among the producers invited to contribute, so he sampled the classic “Kind Of Blue” for a song featuring Phonte Coleman.

“Being able to go in the vault allowed me to hear songs that I’ve never heard. But it also allowed me to get audio of Miles just talking. For instance, on this song we did with Ledisi and John Scofield (“I’m Leaving U”) I took Miles’s voice from one of the recordings where he was just saying ‘Wait a minute, wait a minute.’ So I just chopped that and used that as part of the chorus.”

Glasper also contributed to the soundtrack to the Davis biopic Miles Ahead, which will be released on April 1st. Watch the full mini-doc above and read the tracklist to Everything’s Beautiful below.

01 Talking Shit
02 Ghetto Walkin [ft. Bilal]
03 They Can’t Hold Me Down [ft. Illa J]
04 Maiysha (So Long) [ft. Erykah Badu]
05 Violets [ft. Phonte]
06 Little Church [ft. Hiatus Kaiyote]
07 Silence Is The Way [ft. Laura Mvula]
08 Song For Selim [ft. KING]
09 Milestones [ft. Georgia Anne Muldrow]
10 I’m Leaving You [ft. John Scofield, Ledisi]
11 Right On Brotha [ft. Stevie Wonder]


To Top